Numero Group to Reissue Laraaji’s Earliest Work


Laraaji’s earliest work is getting a Numero Group reissue in a forthcoming package dubbed Segue to Infinity. It includes his first full-length, 1978’s Celestial Vibration, along with three LPs of previously unreleased music that he recorded around that time. Segue to Infinity is out February 10. Listen to “Ocean” from the set and see the full tracklist below.

According to a press release, the recordings for the collection were sourced from acetate discs that a college student had purchased in 2021 from an eBay seller, for a grand total of $114.01. Celestial Vibration was the only album the multi-instrumentalist ever released under his birth name, Edward Larry Gordon.

Since releasing Sun Piano and Moon Piano in 2020, Laraaji has made a number of guest appearances on other projects by Medicine Singers, Carlos Niño, BadBadNotGood, and more. 

Read Pitchfork’s feature “The Music That Made Laraaji.”


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

Segue to Infinity:

01 Bethlehem
02 All Pervading
03 Ocean
04 Koto
05 Kalimba 1
06 Segue to Infinity
07 Kalimba 2
08 Kalimba 4

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.